Roe vs. Wade is a Victory for the Babies and the States, but There is More Work to do.

Unborn-Baby-3

As everyone has heard by now, on June 24, 2022, the Supreme Court of the United States overruled Roe vs. Wade and all other rulings on abortion at the federal level. That means that decisions on abortion are returned to the states where those decisions always belonged. Despite what leftists and others are shouting, women's rights have not been violated in any way by this ruling. Unfortunately, abortion is still permitted in many states in the U.S. and is always allowed to save the mother's life. Let's delve into that, shall we?

Alabama

The Human Life Protection Act is an Alabama statute enacted on May 15, 2019, that was set to impose a near-total ban on abortion in the state starting in November 2019, but a legal challenge against the bill had delayed implementation until 2022. The bill was passed in both chambers of the Alabama Legislature in a party-line vote and signed by republican governor Kay Ivey. 

Under the Human Life Protection Act, a doctor who performs a banned abortion in the state of Alabama is guilty of a Class A felony and could be sentenced to life imprisonment. Several proposed amendments that would have allowed abortions in cases of rape and incest were rejected. 

The law provides for exceptions in cases where a baby has a lethal anomaly (a medical condition that would cause the baby to be stillborn or to die shortly following birth), or in cases where a pregnancy would "present serious health risk" to the woman. The law also allows abortions to be performed "upon confirmation from a psychiatrist" that a pregnant woman diagnosed with a "serious mental illness" might otherwise take an action that would lead to her own death or to the death of the baby. 

Despite the ridiculous claims from the far left, the law does not ban procedures to end ectopic pregnancies or procedures in which a dead baby is removed from the uterus.

It's unfortunate that the Alabama law still allows people to play God and decide that a child's life is not worth living if it has a so-called lethal anomaly,  would be stillborn, or would allow a psychiatrist to decide a woman can get an abortion if she is mentally unstable. Yet, as you can see the law does allow for exceptions in the case of danger to the life of the mother.

Alaska

Alaska still allows abortion of non-viable babies, meaning babies who cannot survive outside the womb. Partial-birth abortion is not allowed except in cases to protect the life of the mother. (We know that there is no way that partial-birth abortion would ever be safer for the mother than birth. That's just ridiculous.) There is a fine of $1,000 and/or imprisonment of up to 5 years; partial-birth abortion is considered a Class C felony. Additionally, a person must be a resident of Alaska for at least 30 days before they can acquire an abortion there. Other than that there are no limits.

Arkansas

From the Arkansas Democrat Gazette:

"Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge on Friday signed a certificate implementing a 2019 law that bans abortions in Arkansas except to save the life of the mother in a medical emergency just hours after the U.S."

'"I am proud to announce as chief legal officer of the State of Arkansas that the United States Supreme Court has in fact overruled Roe v. Wade and Planned Parenthood v. Casey, thereby restoring to the state of Arkansas the authority to prohibit abortions," an emotional Rutledge said with Republican Gov. Asa Hutchison and House Speaker Matthew Shepherd, R-El Dorado, at her side.

'"This overturns the legal precedent that federal district courts and courts of appeal across the country has used to strike down pro-life laws like Arkansas'," Rutledge said. "This decision puts our pro-life laws in place and allows Arkansas to ban abortion with the only exception to save the life of the mother."'

Arizona

Previously abortion was allowed in Arizona up to the 20th week of pregnancy. That's about 5 months and I hope my readers understand how developed a baby is by this point. If not, perhaps some research is needed. Now that Roe is rightly overturned, Acacia Women's Center in Phoenix stated on Monday that it is still offering abortion services, but every other abortion provider in Arizona, including Planned Parenthood clinics, has either closed or suspended its abortion services out of concern of legal action. There is still an exception in place for the life of the mother.

Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge

California

California's abortion laws are more progressive than those of most other states. Abortion in California is legal through all nine months of pregnancy. Additionally, Nurse-midwives and other non-physician medical professionals are permitted to perform abortions as long as they have the proper training. Public state universities must provide students with the abortion pill, Mifepristone, at no cost. California is also on the brink of passing a law that protects women and others from prosecution if a baby dies up to 30 days after birth.

Colorado

Abortion in Colorado is still legal. There are no laws restricting abortion and no laws protecting it. Both parents (with exceptions) or the legal guardian(s) of a child under the age of 18 must be given notice before an abortion. (Note: that does not mean parental permission.)

Connecticut

Connecticut abortion laws allow abortion up to the baby's viability and is a decision made solely by the pregnant woman. Abortions can only be done by a licensed physician, however it appears that this pro-abortion state is updating its laws on July 1, 2022.

From the CT Insider

"Connecticut was already viewed as a leader on abortion rights, but two new laws on the books will expand the types of medical providers who can provide aspiration abortions, the most common type of in-clinic abortions, and provide a legal safe harbor to providers and patients against lawsuits from anti-abortion states. The new laws were prompted by an anticipated U.S. Supreme Court decision this June that would overrule or severely curtail the federal right to abortion."

Delaware

Delaware abortion laws state that abortion before the viability of the baby is legal. A licensed physician must perform the procedure. Girls under the age of 18 or women who are mentally ill or incompetent must have parental consent. Two proposed bills have not made it to a floor vote: one that bans abortions after 20 weeks of pregnancy and one that gives a woman the chance to receive an ultrasound of the baby before the procedure.

District of Columbia

Washington D.C.'s abortion laws are one of the least restrictive in the United States. Abortions are legal in D. C. and do not need to be performed by a licensed physician. Also, there are no bans on late-term abortions.

Florida

Currently, abortion in Florida is legal up to 24 weeks, a woman must receive an ultrasound before the procedure, and a licensed physician must perform the procedure. A parent or legal guardian must be notified if the girl is a minor. However and a new law banning abortions after 15 weeks is set to take effect on Friday. Planned Parenthood and other abortionists are seeking an injunction to keep the law from taking effect. The law was passed this year and signed by Governor Ron DeSantis.

Georgia

Georgia abortion laws are very restrictive. On May 7, 2019, Georgia signed a "fetal heartbeat" law, which bans abortions after six weeks of pregnancy with exceptions for mothers whose lives are at risk due to the pregnancy as well as in cases of rape or incest if a police report is filed. A licensed physician must do the procedure, and physicians have a right to refuse to participate.

From Georgia Recorder:

"Georgia's 2019 law, officially titled the Living Infants Fairness and Equality (LIFE) Act, would ban most abortions once fetal cardiac activity is detected, usually after about six weeks into a pregnancy and before many women know they are pregnant.

"Georgia Attorney General Chris Carr quickly asked the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals to let the state's law take effect, triggering a process that will unfold over the coming weeks. The court has directed the parties in the case to file briefs addressing the impact of Friday's ruling on the state's appeal within three weeks.

"I believe in the dignity, value and worth of every human being, both born and unborn," Carr said in a statement Friday. "The U.S. Supreme Court's decision in Dobbs is constitutionally correct and rightfully returns the issue of abortion to the states and to the people – where it belongs."

The new Georgia law would ban abortions with a few exceptions: in the case of incest, rape, or when a woman's life is in danger.

Hawaii

Hawaii abortion laws state that abortion is legal before the viability of the baby and a licensed physician must perform the procedure.

Attorney General of Georgia Chris Carr

Idaho

Previously Idaho abortion laws stated that abortion is legal prior to the viability of the baby. Additionally, women were to receive mandatory counseling and wait 24 hours after their initial appointment to have the procedure done. Girls under the age of 18 must have the consent of one parent or guardian. Third-trimester abortions were permitted only in the case of danger to the mother's life. (Again we find that ridiculous since third-trimester abortions are more dangerous in most cases than giving birth and actually require the woman to give birth to the baby anyway, albeit the baby may be dead.) 

With the overturning of Roe vs. Wade Senate Bill 1385 is set to take effect within the next 30 days. Adopted in 2020, Idaho's trigger law will only allow abortions in cases of rape, incest, and if the mother's life is at risk. According to some, the ban may not go into effect until August 23. 

Abortionists who are found violating Idaho's law would face between two and five years in prison under a felony charge. Their medical license would be suspended for six months after the first offense, and it would be permanently revoked for any recurring offenses.

We are not sure if Senate Bill 1309 will go into effect or not. That is the fetal heartbeat bill. That bill passed in March of this year. Since Governor Brad Little signed the Bill into law, we would think so. The law is very restrictive. This law would ban abortion after six weeks and allow the father, sibling, grandparent, aunt, or uncle of the baby to bring legal action against the medical professional who performed the abortion.

Illinois

Abortion is allowed in Illinois up to the point of viability of the baby. However, the way the Illinois law is written, it is pretty clear any woman can get an abortion in that state for any reason. Much work needs to be done here. See a law declaring a "fundamental right" to abortion.

Indiana

Indiana technically allows abortion up to 22 weeks, but because of the way the regulations are written, most abortions must take place before 13 weeks of pregnancy. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem likely to change very soon. We shall see.

Iowa

Iowa allows abortions up to 20 weeks for any reason. That isn't likely to change since the Iowa Supreme Court struck down a law banning abortions after six weeks in 2019. There is a requirement for parental notification for minor girls, as well as a requirement for an ultrasound before the procedure.

Kansas

Kansas allows abortion up to 22 weeks of pregnancy. However, an ultrasound, as well as state directed-counseling, is required before the procedure. Kansans are also slated to vote to overturn state constitutional protections for abortion and government funding for abortion. That's at least progress. Let's hope the people of Kansas do the right thing by the babies.

Kentucky

In 2019, Kentucky became one of the first states to pass a "trigger law" that went into effect immediately after Roe v. Wade was struck down. Providing surgical or medical abortion is now a Class D felony, except if necessary to save the life of the mother or to prevent permanent impairment of a life-sustaining organ.

Previously, Kentucky allowed abortions up to 22 weeks, requiring parental consent for minors, ultrasound, state-directed counseling and a 24-hour waiting period.

In November 2022, voters will decide on a referendum affirming that nothing in the state constitution creates a right to abortion or requires government funding for abortion. (Yay Kentucky. This state is becoming more and more appealing)

Here is a short summary of the Kentucky law: 

"Create a new section of KRS Chapter 311 to provide that if the United States Supreme Court reverses Roe v. Wade, or an amendment is adopted to the United State Constitution restoring state authority to prohibit abortion, no person shall knowingly administer to, prescribe for, procure for, or sell to any pregnant woman any medicine, drug, or other substance with the specific intent of causing or abetting the termination of the life of an unborn human being and no person shall use or employ any instrument or procedure upon a pregnant woman with the specific intent of causing or abetting the termination of the life of an unborn human being; any person who violates the prohibition is guilty of a Class D felony; provide an exemption for a licensed physician to perform a medical procedure necessary in reasonable medical judgment to prevent the death or substantial risk of death due to a physical condition, or to prevent the serious, permanent impairment of a life-sustaining organ of a pregnant woman; specify that this Act shall also be effective to the appropriation of Medicaid funds that set forth the limited circumstances in which states must fund abortion to remain eligible to receive federal Medicaid funds; repeal KRS 311.710; provide that this Act may be cited as the Human Life Protection Act."

Louisiana

From BBC

In 2006, Louisiana passed a trigger law that bans all abortions except to prevent "substantial risk of death or permanent impairment under certain circumstances."

"On Monday, Orleans Parish Civil District Court Judge Robinson Giarruso temporarily blocked enforcement of the Louisiana law and set a hearing for 8 July.

"A lawsuit filed Monday morning by the Center for Reproductive Rights on behalf of local abortion providers argued that trigger bans "lack constitutionally required safeguards to prevent arbitrary enforcement" and are "void for vagueness".

Before Roe was overturned, Louisiana prohibited abortion after 22 weeks of pregnancy and required ultrasounds and waiting periods.

In 2020, Louisiana amended its state constitution to remove any language that might imply the right to an abortion.

We doubt the injunction will stand, likely being overturned by the courts.

Maine

Maine allows abortions up to the baby's viability, and beyond that in cases of danger to the life of the mother.

In 2019, Maine codified legal abortion into law and passed legislation allowing people other than doctors to perform the procedure. In April 2022, the state passed a law to keep pro-life protesters away from abortion clinics. Here is the Maine statute.

Maryland

Abortion is legal in Maryland up until the point of the baby's viability. In the case of a minor, parents must be notified.

In 1992, Maryland voters passed a referendum affirming access to abortion, intended to protect abortion in Maryland in case the US Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade. Since Roe vs. Wade does nothing but return the decision to the states that referendum is pretty redundant.

Massachusetts

Massachusetts allows abortion until the baby's viability. In 2018 the state passed a law removing all restrictions on abortion. This law allows abortion in nearly every circumstance or at least creates a way around any restrictions. 

Bill S1209: Section 12M. A physician, acting within their lawful scope of practice, may perform an abortion when, according to the physician's best medical judgment, the patient is within twenty-four weeks from the commencement of pregnancy, as defined in section 12K of this chapter. A physician, acting within their lawful scope of practice, may perform an abortion when, according to the physician's best medical judgment based on the facts of the patient's case, the patient is beyond twenty-four weeks from the commencement of pregnancy and the abortion is necessary to protect the patient's life or physical or mental health, or in cases of lethal fetal anomalies, or where the fetus is incompatible with sustained life outside the uterus. Medical judgment may be exercised in the light of all factors—physical, emotional, psychological, familial, and the person's age relevant to the well-being of the patient.

In late 2020, the state also passed legislation called the Roe Act, which expanded access to abortion and made it explicitly legal in the case of Roe v. Wade being overturned. Again the redundancy.

Michigan

Abortions in Michigan are legal until the baby's viability, though state-directed counseling and a 24-hour waiting period are required.

With Roe vs. Wade overturned, a Michigan law from 1931 could take effect, making all abortions illegal. Gov. Gretchen Whitmer has sued to block the law, saying that the due process and equal protection clauses of the state constitution make it invalid. We shall see.

Minnesota

Minnesota's abortion restrictions are similar to Michigan's: Parents of minors must give consent, and mothers are required to undergo state-directed counseling and a 24-hour waiting period regardless of age. However, in Minnesota abortion is protected by a 1995 ruling by the state's Supreme Court, and Gov. Tim Walz has declared that "no abortion ban will ever become law" during his term.

Mississippi

Mississippi's Gestational Age Act of 2018, which limited abortions to the first 15 weeks of pregnancy, was the subject of the Supreme Court case that led to the overturning of Roe v. Wade.

Now a trigger law passed in 2007 outlaws all abortions except in cases of rape or to save the life of the mother. The law goes into effect on July 7, 2022, though it faces a lawsuit from Jackson Women's Health Organization, the plaintiff in the Supreme Court and the only abortion clinic in the state. Mississippi gets all the kudos for this!

Here is the relevant section of the 2007 law:

SECTION 2. (1) As used in this section, the term "abortion" means the use or prescription of any instrument, medicine, drug or any other substance or device to terminate the pregnancy of a woman known to be pregnant with an intention other than to increase the probability of a live birth, to preserve the life or health of the child after live birth or to remove a dead fetus.

(2) No abortion shall be performed or induced in the State of Mississippi, except in the case where necessary for the preservation of the mother's life or where the pregnancy was caused by rape.

(3) For the purposes of this act, rape shall be an exception to the prohibition for an abortion only if a formal charge of rape has been filed with an appropriate law enforcement official.

(4) Any person, except the pregnant woman, who purposefully, knowingly or recklessly performs or attempts to perform or induce an abortion in the State of Mississippi, except in the case where necessary for the preservation of the mother's life or where the pregnancy was caused by rape, upon conviction, shall be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not less than one (1) year nor more than ten (10) years.

Missouri

Following the Supreme Court ruling, Missouri invoked a trigger law banning all abortions in the state, with an exception if the life of the woman is at stake but not in cases of rape or incest.

The law makes inducing an abortion a class B felony, with a possible prison sentence of five to 15 years. Abortion providers can also have their medical licenses suspended or revoked.

Here is the relevant section of the Missouri law:

188.017.Right to Life of the Unborn Child Act — limitation on abortions, when — affirmative defense — contingent effective date. — 1. This section shall be known and may be cited as the "Right to Life of the Unborn Child Act".

2. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, no abortion shall be performed or induced upon a woman, except in cases of medical emergency. Any person who knowingly performs or induces an abortion of an unborn child in violation of this subsection shall be guilty of a class B felony, as well as subject to suspension or revocation of his or her professional license by his or her professional licensing board. A woman upon whom an abortion is performed or induced in violation of this subsection shall not be prosecuted for a conspiracy to violate the provisions of this subsection.

Abortions were previously banned after 20 weeks' gestational age and required state-directed counseling, ultrasound, and a 72-hour waiting period.

Montana

Abortion in Montana is protected by a 1999 state Supreme Court decision that isn't affected by the overturning of Roe v. Wade. However, state Attorney General Austin Knudsen has asked the Montana Supreme Court to overturn the 1999 decision.

Several state abortion restrictions that were passed in 2021 are being challenged in court by Planned Parenthood. Pending legislation would ban abortions after 20 weeks' gestational age and block providing abortion medication through the mail. 

Montanans need to get busy. I have no doubt that babies will eventually get protection in this state too.

Nebraska

Abortions in Nebraska are legal up to 22 weeks. The state requires mandated counseling and a 24-hour waiting period, as well as parental consent for minors and a ban on telemedicine for abortion medication.

In February, the state failed to pass a trigger law that would've banned all abortions when Roe v. Wade was overturned. Nebraska legislators have indicated they may call a special session to try again to pass the bill. Get busy Nebraskans!

Nevada

Nevada allows abortions up until 24 weeks. In 1990, state law revisions protecting abortion were passed by referendum and can't be changed by the legislature without a repeal from state voters. Only physicians can perform abortions, and parental consent is required for minors. Nevadans need to get their heads out!

New Hampshire

New Hampshire has no specific laws protecting abortion. A 2022 state law made abortions after 24 weeks illegal and added several requirements, like ultrasound and parental consent for minors.

In May 2022, Gov. Chris Sununu signed a law allowing abortions after 24 weeks in the case of fatal anomalies of the baby. This is atrocious since it pretty much clears the way for abortion at all times.

New Jersey

Abortion remains legal in New Jersey. Assembly Bill 6260, passed in January 2022, removed several restrictions from the law, including the requirement that only physicians provide abortions.

In 2000, the state Supreme Court struck down a law requiring parental consent for minors. It's pretty outrageous that any state can circumvent parents when performing medical procedures of any kind.

New Mexico

In 1969, New Mexico passed a law criminalizing abortion, but the state legislature repealed it in February 2021. The repeal also removed requirements for parental consent for minors.

There's no law protecting abortion in New Mexico, but the overturning of Roe v. Wade doesn't immediately impact abortion access in the state. Get busy New Mexicans!

New York

New York state legalized abortion in 1970, three years before the Supreme Court ruling in Roe v. Wade, and a 2019 law lifted several restrictions, including a requirement that only physicians could provide abortions.

A 2019 law, Section 2599-BB, removed abortion from the New York state criminal code and allowed abortion after 24 weeks in the case of a life-threatening pregnancy or a nonviable baby. The heinous New York law allows abortion at all stages of pregnancy for all reasons.

North Carolina

Before the overturning of Roe vs. Wade, abortion was legal in North Carolina until the baby's viability, considered approximately 22 weeks. But a law banning abortions after 20 weeks is now in effect. The state also mandates several restrictions, including parental consent for minors, ultrasound, mandatory state-directed counseling, and a 72-hour waiting period.

The North Carolina General Assembly has passed several other restrictions, but they've all been vetoed by Democratic Gov. Roy Cooper. 

It looks like North Carolina needs a new Governor.

North Dakota

North Dakota's trigger law, passed in 2013, goes into effect 30 days after the Attorney General certifies the Supreme Court has restored the state's authority to prohibit abortion. It makes abortion a Class C felony punishable by a maximum penalty of five years in prison and a $10,000 fine, with an exception to save the life of the mother or in the case of rape or incest.

Ohio

On June 24, a federal judge lifted an injunction against Ohio's "fetal heartbeat" law, which bans abortion after the detection of a baby's heartbeat -- about six weeks into a pregnancy -- with an exception if the life of the mother is at stake but not in cases of rape or incest.

Healthcare providers found guilty of performing an abortion could face felony charges and up to a year in prison.

Senate President Matt Huffman, a Republican from Lima, said residents who seek abortions in other states would not be prosecuted.

 "If someone is going to go to New York to have an abortion, we're not going to know that and we're not going to be able to prevent that," Huffman told USA Today."

Previously, abortions were legal in Ohio up to 20 weeks after conception, though they required mandatory counseling, a 24-hour waiting period, and an ultrasound.

Oklahoma

Post-Roe, anyone who performs an abortion at any point after conception could be subject to up to two to five years in prison unless the life of the mother is at risk. (A trigger law goes into effect on Aug. 26 that increases the penalties to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of $100,000.)

The statute makes exceptions for miscarriages, ectopic pregnancies, to save the life of the mother and if the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest that has been reported to law enforcement. It is also aimed at medical professionals -- a woman having an abortion would not be charged.

Similar to the Texas ban, Oklahoma's law allows private citizens to sue anyone who helps a woman obtain an abortion for at least $10,000 in damages.

Oregon

Oregon has enacted several laws to expand access to abortion: In 1983, abortion became a right under the state Constitution. In 2017, the state began allowing nonphysician health professionals to provide abortion and passed a law that requires private insurers to cover the costs of abortion.

In 2018, voters rejected a ballot measure to restrict use of state funds for abortion.

Unfortunately in Oregon women and abortionists can continue to murder their unborn children.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania allows abortions up to 24 weeks after the last menstrual period. In 1982, the state legislature added requirements including state-directed counseling, ultrasound, a 24-hour waiting period, and parental consent for minors.

Puerto Rico

Abortion has been legal in Puerto Rico since 1937. Before Roe v. Wade, some Americans living in states where they couldn't legally get an abortion would travel to the US territory to obtain one.

In 2019, Puerto Rico passed some of its first restrictions, including the requirement of parental consent for minors.

Proposed in April 2022 and now under debate, Senate Project 693 would restrict abortions to 22 weeks after conception.

Puerto Rico isn't a state but we would love for them to stop allowing the murder of their unborn babies and also not allow U.S. citizens to travel there to get abortions.

Rhode Island

Abortions are legal and minimally restricted in Rhode Island. Parental consent is required for minors and only physicians are allowed to perform the procedure.

In 2019, state lawmakers repealed a law criminalizing abortions after 12 weeks and replaced it with a measure that added statutory protections but didn't guarantee the right to abortion in the state constitution.

South Carolina

South Carolina outlaws abortions after six weeks, with exceptions for rape or incest.

Under Roe, abortion was strictly limited, with mandatory state-based counseling, a 24-hour waiting period and a ban on abortions after 20 weeks post-fertilization.

South Dakota

A trigger law passed in 2005 bans abortions except in the case of life-threatening pregnancies.

Under Roe, South Dakota banned abortions after 22 weeks, requiring counseling and mandating a 72-hour waiting period. A law signed in March 2022 further restricted abortion medication.

Tennessee

A trigger law passed in 2019 effectively bans all abortions in Tennessee, except in the case of life-threatening pregnancies. The law will go into effect 30 days after the overturn of Roe v. Wade.

Previously, Tennessee mandated counseling, a 48-hour waiting period and parental consent for minors. Voters amended the state constitution in 2014 to remove abortion protections granted by a state Supreme Court ruling in 2000. You go Tennessee!

Texas

In 2021, Texas passed a trigger law that criminalizes almost all abortions except to save the life of the mother or if they risk "substantial impairment of major bodily function."

The law, which makes providing an abortion punishable by up to life in prison and fines of up to $100,000, is set to take effect 30 days after Roe vs Wade is overturned. But Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton said pre-Roe laws that banned abortion and were never repealed are in effect, making the procedure effectively banned already.

Here is the bill:

House Bill 1280 enacts the Human Life Protection Act of 2021 and amends the Health and Safety Code to create a second degree felony offense for a person who knowingly performs, induces, or attempts an abortion and to provide for the enhancement of that penalty to a first degree felony if an unborn child dies as a result of the offense. The bill also subjects a person who engages in the prohibited conduct to a civil penalty of not less than $100,000 for each violation and sets out exceptions to the application of the offense. The bill prohibits a physician from taking an action that constitutes such an exception if, at the time the abortion was performed, induced, or attempted, the person knew the risk of death or a substantial impairment of a major bodily function arose from a claim or diagnosis that the female would engage in conduct that might result in the female's death or in substantial impairment of a major bodily function. In addition, the bill does the following:

·requires the attorney general to file an action to recover an applicable civil penalty;

·authorizes the attorney general to recover attorney's fees and costs incurred in bringing such an action;

·clarifies that the fact that conduct is subject to a civil or criminal penalty under the bill's provisions does not abolish or impair any remedy for the conduct that is available in a civil suit; and

·requires the appropriate licensing authority to revoke the license, permit, registration, certificate, or other authority of a physician or other health care professional who performs, induces, or attempts an abortion in violation of the bill's provisions.

House Bill 1280 takes effect, to the extent permitted, on the 30th day after one of the following:

·the issuance of a U.S. Supreme Court judgment in a decision overruling, wholly or partly, Roe v. Wade, thereby allowing the states to prohibit abortion;

·the issuance of any other U.S. Supreme Court judgment in a decision that recognizes, wholly or partly, the authority of the states to prohibit abortion; or

·the adoption of an amendment to the U.S. Constitution that, wholly or partly, restores to the states the authority to prohibit abortion.

Utah

With Roe vs. Wade overturned, a trigger law passed in 2020 makes performing an abortion a second-degree felony in Utah, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. It took effect immediately after the Supreme Court announced its ruling on June 24, 2022.

There are exceptions in the case of rape, incest, or a life-threatening pregnancy. Abortion is also permissible in the case of a fatal defect or "severe brain abnormality" in the baby, but not including Down syndrome, cerebral palsy, or other conditions that don't result in a vegetative state.

Planned Parenthood has filed suit to block the ban.

Before the ruling in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization, women seeking abortions had to agree to state-based counseling, a 72-hour waiting period, and parental consent for minors.

Vermont

Vermont has no major restrictions on abortion. An abortion ban was ruled unconstitutional by the state Supreme Court in 1972 and repealed by the legislature in 2014.

In 2019, Republican Gov. Phil Scott signed Act 47, a sweeping law that established the right to abortion without government interference. Looks like we have a RINO folks!

Virginia

Abortion is generally legal in Virginia up until 25 weeks of gestation. A 2020 law repealed several restrictions, including a 24-hour waiting period and a requirement that only physicians provide abortions.

In 2021, the state removed a prohibition on state exchange insurance covering abortion.

Hopefully Virginians will get busy and change that now!

Washington

In 1971, Washington state, a state named after our first President, (George Washington is probably rolling over in his grave) repealed criminal penalties for abortion, and abortions are legal up to the point of a baby's viability, somewhere between 23 and 24 weeks.

In 2018 abortion was written into a state law that also requires insurers that provide maternity care to cover abortions.

In March 2022, the state passed a law that shields both mothers and providers from out-of-state prosecution, in response to laws in Texas and elsewhere allowing citizens to sue abortion providers.

West Virginia

West Virginia bans abortions after 22 weeks except in cases of life endangerment or severe health risk. It also requires a 24-hour waiting period, counseling and parental notification for minors. In 2018, West Virginia voters agreed to amend the state constitution to specifically declare that it doesn't include any right to abortion.

A law signed by Republican Gov. Jim Justice in March 2021 prevents women from getting an abortion because they believe their child will be born with a disability. Well at least there's that!

A law from 1848 makes it a felony to perform an abortion, punishable by three to 10 years in prison. It's unclear, though, if the statute is still enforceable. Perhaps we could be seeing a challenge here.

Wisconsin

A law dating to 1849 makes abortion a felony, but it's not clear if the 173-year-old ban will now go into effect as State Attorney General Josh Kaul has said he wouldn't enforce the "draconian" law.

Democratic Gov. Tony Evers has called on the Republican-led legislature to repeal that law, but it isn't expected to do so.

Until now abortion in Wisconsin has been legal up to the 22nd week, though state regulations require counseling, parental consent for minors, a 24-hour waiting period, and mandatory ultrasound. They also prohibit telemedicine for abortion medication.

Wyoming

In March, Wyoming passed House Bill 92, a trigger law that outlaws all abortions except in the case of life-threatening pregnancies.

To recap, the following states either have trigger laws or other laws on the books that can and most likely will take effect since the overturning of Roe vs. Wade. The total comes to 18, meaning there is still a lot of work to protect babies.

Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming are the only states with essential restrictions on abortion. For pro-lifers, this means we have a lot of work remaining to be done, but the path is now wide open to do so. It also proves that the screeching leftists are a bunch of liars. But we knew that already, didn't we?

Related

Good News Spreads Fast. Great News Spreads Even Faster!

I hear the Angels singing the glorious news from the mountaintops: FEDERALLY SANCTIONED ABORTION IS ENDED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA!

The celebration shall go on for eternity.

The Greatest True Blue American President in our lifetime stayed true blue to his promise....

RRM Content Creators: Visionaries, Poet Warriors, World Leaders

Ruby Ray Media, the World's Premier Community Media Platform, was created to support Citizen Journalism at its finest.

 
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.

You must login to post a comment.

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://rubyraymedia.com/